top of page
  • Writer's pictureD. Allyson Howlett

Book Review: Sweet Like Sugar

It's sweet in all the worst ways.


Another exciting read from one of my favorite psychological triller novelists, D.P. Haka.


Sweet Like Sugar by D.P. Haka is the second book I have read by this author. I went into this read knowing how much I devoured her second novel Invisible Ones.


I knew what to expect but also, what not to.


Haka is, by far, a brilliant author. Her ability to build suspense and draw out emotional turmoil is unmatched by any author I have yet to read. She does an amazing job making you care deeply for these character's, even the ones you should never care a lick about. This book revolves around a murder, but also around a woman who never knew why her feelings seemed wrong, until the truth is revealed that hooked me senselessly to want to know more.



⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐️


Compared to her second novel, I can see how much Haka had grown as an author between them. Her style has evolved into a fine-tipped point and I cannot wait to read more of her works. There were drastic similarities between both novels, but evenso, I enjoyed this one all on it's own. If you haven't read any of Haka's works, I suggest starting with this one.


Check out more about the author and don't forget to pick up the book!




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page